taliban government ministers list

Taliban Formed the New Government, Here is the Key Ministers List

On Tuesday, Taliban has formed their interim “Islamic Emirate” government with 33 members. There is no single women included in the cabinet ministers list, although the Taliban has promised to form an inclusive government with both genders to run Afghanistan’s Economy fairly.  

Amid this Talibani Govt formation, US State Department spokesperson said, the world is closely watching their actions. And worldwide leaders are expecting a positive relation with Afghanistan.  

Mullah Mohammad Hasan Akhund was appointed as the ‘acting’ Prime Minister in the new Afghan government, with Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar and Mullah Abdus Salam being his deputies. So let’s find out who are the others on the list got the chance to play the role in Afghanistan’s politics along with their weapon power.

Taliban Government 33 Ministers Complete List:

1. Mullah Muhammad Hassan Akhund – Prime Minister

Akhund is the longtime head of Taliban’s powerful decision-making body Rehbari Shura, or leadership council. He was first the foreign minister and then deputy prime minister during the Taliban’s last rule from 1996-2001.

Like many in the Taliban leadership, Akhund derives much of his prestige from his proximity to the movement’s reclusive first leader, Mullah Mohammad Omar.

He hails from Kandahar, the birthplace of the Taliban. A U.N. sanctions report described him as a “close associate and political adviser” to Omar.

Akhund is highly respected within the movement, especially by its supreme leader Haibatullah Akhundzada, a Taliban source said.

Some observers see Akhund, believed to be in his mid-60s and possibly older, as more of a political than a religious figure, with his control over the leadership council also giving him a say in military affairs.2.

2. Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar – Deputy PM

Baradar was once a close friend of Mullah Omar, who gave him his nom de guerre, “Baradar” or “brother”.

He served as deputy defence minister when the Taliban last ruled Afghanistan.

Following the fall of the Taliban government, Baradar served as a senior military commander responsible for attacks on coalition forces, a U.N. sanctions notice said.

He was arrested and imprisoned in Pakistan in 2010. After his release in 2018, he headed the Taliban’s political office in Doha, becoming one of the most prominent figures in peace talks with the United States.

3. Molvi Abdul Salam Hanafi – Deputy PM

4. Molavi Amir Khan Muttaqi – Minister of Foreign Affairs

Originally from Paktia, Muttaqi calls himself a resident of Helmand.

Muttaqi served as minister of culture and information during the previous Taliban government, as well as minister of education. Muttaqi was later sent to Qatar and was appointed a member of the peace commission and negotiation team that held talks with the United States.

Neither militant commander nor religious leader, according to Taliban sources, Muttaqi is the chair of the Invitation and Guidance Commission, which during the insurgency had led efforts to get government officials and other key figures to defect.

In statements and speeches, while fighting raged for control of the country, he projected a moderate voice, calling on forces holed up in provincial capitals to talk to the group to avoid fighting in urban areas.

In the weeks after the fall of Kabul, Muttaqi played a similar role with the lone holdout province of Panjshir, calling for a peaceful settlement to hostilities.

5. Molavi Muhammad Yaqoob Mujahid – Defence Minister  

Son of the Taliban’s founder Mullah Omar, Yaqoob had originally sought to succeed his father in 2015. He stormed out of the council meeting that appointed his father’s successor, Mullah Akhtar Mansour, but was eventually reconciled.

Still, in his early 30s and without the long combat experience of the Taliban’s main battlefield commanders, he commands the loyalty of a section of the movement in Kandahar because of the prestige of his father’s name.

He was named as overall head of the Taliban military commission last year, overseeing all military operations in Afghanistan and was one of three deputy leaders, along with Baradar and Sirajuddin Haqqani.

Although considered a relative moderate by some Western analysts, Taliban commanders said he was among the leaders pressing the military campaign against the cities to be stepped up in the weeks before the fall of Kabul.

6. Molavi Sirajuddin Haqqani – Acting Minister of Interior

Head of the influential Haqqani network, Sirajuddin Haqqani succeeded as its leader following the death of his father, Jalaluddin Haqqani, in 2018.

Initially backed by the United States as one of the most effective anti-Soviet militia in the 1980s, the semi-autonomous group was blamed for some of the deadliest attacks on coalition forces.

The network, whose exact status within the Taliban structure is debated, has been named a Foreign Terrorist Organization by the United States although the Taliban itself has not.

The United Nations Sanctions Committee also has also said the group, based in the lawless frontier areas between Afghanistan and Pakistan, has close involvement in drugs production and trade.

Haqqani is one of the FBI’s most wanted men, due to his involvement in suicide attacks and ties with Al Qaeda. The U.S. State Department has offered a reward of up to $10 million for information leading to his arrest.

7. Mullah Hidayatullah Badri – Minister of Finance

8. Sheikh Molavi Noorullah Munir – Minister of Education

9. Mullah Khairullah Khairkhwa – Minister of Information & Broadcasting

10. Qari Din Mohammad Hanif – Minister of Economic Affairs

11. Molavi Noor Muhammad Saqib is Minister of Hajj and Auqaf.  

12. Molavi Abdul Hakim Sharae is Minister of Justice.  

13. Noorullah Noori is Minister for Borders and Tribal Affairs.  

14. Mullah Muhammad Yonus Khundzada is Minister for Rural Development.  

15. Sheikh Mohammad Khalid is Minister of Dawat and Irshad. 

16. Mullah Abdul Manan Omari is Minister of Public works.  

17. Mullah Muhammad Essa Akhund is Minister of minerals and Petroleum.  

18. Molavi Abdul Latif Mansoor is Minister of Water and Electricity.  

19. Hameed ullah Akhundzada is Minister of Civil Aviation and Transportation.  

20. Abdul Baqi Haqani as Minister of Higher education.  

21. Najeebullah Haqqani is Minister of Communication.  

22. Khalil ul Rahman Haqqani is Minister of Refugees.  

23. Abdul Haq Wasiq is Head of Intelligence  

24. Haji Mohammad ldrees is Head of (Da Afghanistan Bank)  

25. Molavi Ahrnad Jan Ahmadi is Chief of Staff.  

26. Mullah Mohammad Fadel Akhund is Deputy Defense Minister.  

27. Qari Faseeh udin is Army Chief. 

28. Sher Muhammad Abbas Stanikzai is Deputy Foreign Minister.  

29. Molavi Noor Jalal is Deputy Interior Minister.  

30. Zabihullah Mujahid is Deputy Minister for Information and Broadcasting.  

31. Mullah Taj Mir Jawad is 1st Deputy of Intelligence.  

32. Mullah Rahmat ullah Najeeb is Administrative Deputy of Intelligence.  

33. Mullah Abdul Haq is Deputy Interior Minister, Narcotics Control.

Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid said at a news conference that an acting cabinet has been formed to respond to fulfil the primary needs of the people of Afghanistan. And he also said positions of few ministries remained to be filled shortly as soon as qualified people are found in their group.

Source: Reuters, TOI & HT

install windows 11 iso free Previous post How to Install Windows 11 ISO Insider Preview for Free on Laptop?
Health Benefits of Drinking Beer Daily - Telegraph Next post Health Benefits of Drinking Beer Everyday Moderately: 10 Reasons